Just a quick one to mention my new job working on policy and campaigning with the NGO Living Streets based near Brick Lane. We describe ourselves as the national charity that stands up for pedestrians. With our supporters we work to create safe, attractive and enjoyable streets, where people want to walk. In our former guise as the Pedestrians’ Association, we were instrumental in the introduction of the driving test, the Highway Code and the zebra crossing. In recent years Living Streets has broadened its role and, as well as safety, now campaigns and works increasingly on making streets more liveable and restoring their social function after years of car-dominated, antisocial planning. This aspect in particular is right up my street (sorry) and I’m enjoying it, though of course missing my friends at The Campaign Company, so more on these themes to come I expect… especially when the cuts to transport budgets become more apparent.

Please do leave a comment if this interests you. You can also email me at majeed@cantab.net, find me on Twitter @majeedneky or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/majeedneky.

https://localismclub.wordpress.com

