Welcome and thanks for looking at this blog, which is all about local politics, issues and ideas in the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames, Greater London. I plan to start blogging properly in September.

I moved to the Kingston / Surbiton area in 2007 and quickly grew to love it: it’s green, friendly and innovative. I’m starting this blog because I want to help keep it that way.

I work for a communications consultancy and am going part-time from September to study for an MA in [Town] Planning and Sustainability at Kingston University. I spend a lot of my free time doing community activism, mainly with the environmental network Transition Town Kingston (www.ttkingston.org) which I helped found in 2008. I’m also enjoying learning the ropes as a school governor at St Andrew’s and St Mark’s (www.sasm.kingston.sch.uk) in Surbiton.

I’m thinking of standing as a councillor in the May 2010 local elections because I’m interested in local democracy and think the best way to learn more is to jump right into it!

I hope readers of this blog can join me in exploring who holds power in Kingston, what’s going well and what not so well. Most importantly and practically – what can we do about it if we work together?

So have a read, leave a comment, even if it’s just a quick hello, and feel free to contact me at majeed@cantab.net .

